Risk Assessment Factor

Multiply the severity number by the likelihood number to arrive at the risk factor for each hazard. This produces a number on a scale of 1 to 25. These numbers provide an indication of priority and the extent of the risk. The higher the number the greater the priority and risk and, therefore the more resources which may be needed to control the risk.night-shift

As a rough guide, 15 to 25 is high risk and may require the provision of considerable resources involving special equipment, training, high levels of supervision, and consideration of the most effective methods of eliminating or controlling hazards. 8 to 15 is medium risk and will require an appropriate level of resources. 1 to 7 is low risk but actions should still be taken to try to reduce these risks further if possible within reasonable limits.

Note: This system provides an indication of risk only and is based on subjective judgment, therefore management must satisfy them that the risk assessment and the actions taken to deal with the hazards they have identified are adequate. A more complicated technique will involve giving numerical ratings to a number of factors as:

  • Number of people exposed to hazard
  • Number of occurrences of hazard
  • The number of times an accident has occurred with this hazard


Once the risk assessment has been carried out protective or control measures must be implemented and we use the hierarchy of Control.

Hierarchy of Control is a preferred series of measures to control risks in order of priority starting with elimination and ending with discipline (ERIC Prevents Death)

(Subscribe to get the full part of this NEBOSH syllabus from the October 2015 issue of the safety Messenger Magazine)

Author: SubEditor

Share This Post On

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: